Patrick Gavin at Politico highlights today Washington's most influential twitterers. "In Washington, the social networking and microblogging service is quickly becoming part of the daily media diet — and a powerful tool in the hands of those who are adept at making their points in 140 characters or fewer," he writes.

Washington’s 10 Most Influential Twitterers, according to Politico:

1. Karl Rovewww.twitter.com/karlrove

2. Sen. Claire McCaskill: www.twitter.com/clairecmc

3. David Gregory: www.twitter.com/davidgregory

4. Barack Obama: www.twitter.com/barackobama

5. Newt Gingrich: www.twitter.com/newtgingrich

6. Ana Marie Cox: www.twitter.com/anamariecox

7. Sen. Chuck Grassley: www.twitter.com/chuckgrassley

8. Joe Trippi: www.twitter.com/joetrippi

9. Patrick Ruffini: www.twitter.com/patrickruffini

10. Al Gore: www.twitter.com/algore